I OVERDOSED MY KIDS....

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by nurseandrea02, Jun 20, 2010.

1. nurseandrea02

nurseandrea02 Well-Known Member

(I rarely admit I'm wrong, but this is something I *know* other people are doing, so I wanted to share to ensure that others knew about it!)

Up until a few months ago, I've only given my kids Ibuprofen, Tylenol, or Benadryl...all doses given to us by our Pediatrician. I then read on here from various posters about the Dr. Sears website & bookmarked it for future reference. Of course, now I deleted it & can't link you to it, but it was the cold & cough medication guide on the Ask Dr Sears website.

Anyways, since most meds are not recommended for kids under 4-6, I used that website to buy Delsym for our kids when they got sick this week. Even though I'm a nurse, I naively assumed the dosing guide on there to be true & didn't consult my Pediatrician. Whoops. I followed the dosing guide & gave them doses once or twice a day, as the internet stated (the bottle said to consult a physician for use under 4).

So, I had to take Aiden in this weekend for his cough & told the Ped I had been given Delsym. Apparently I was giving THREE TIMES THE AMOUNT he was SUPPOSED to have! I got scolded by the Ped (rightfully so) & we had to call Poison Control (who also scolded me) to make sure I didn't do anything detrimental (after using it on BOTH kids for about 4 days). Thankfully it was just on the VERY high end of dosing & no where near a toxic dose, but needless to say, I deleted the website.

For those of you who have used the Dr Sears website, PLEASE be sure to consult your Pediatrician before administering any medications to your kids. It's something I KNEW, but I still had to learn the hard way to be careful.

And, seeing as the Delsym dose that was 3x too high didn't work, I threw it out anyway...I'm much too freaked out now to use anything NOT given to me by our Pediatrician!

Just a word of warning....

2. fuchsiagroan