The curse of being competent...

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by Lougood, Feb 6, 2013.

1. Lougood

Lougood Well-Known Member

Ok, so I need some advice. My girls are both very competent readers. They are in 1st grade and at the mid year testing they were reading at end of 2nd/beginning of 3rd grade level. They do reading groups in each of their classes, but b/c they are above grade level they don't get to meet with the teacher. In one class the teacher just gives them a new book every few days and in the other the teacher flat out told her that b/c they were the best readers in the class they wouldn't be meeting with the teacher as much...truth is they haven't met with her since school started back up. I gave the teachers the month of January b/c they were finishing testing, but here we are into February and they still haven't met with the teacher for groups. I'm so torn. I was a teacher so I know how hard it can be, but I made it a point to read with EVERY group at least twice a week. I don't know what to do. How do I address this? I like their teachers a lot and think they are great, and I know how hard it is when there are kids struggling, but on the other hand, it's not fair. I also thought about going to the principal to suggest having parents who used to teach maybe lead a reading group or two a week...I know at least a few 1st grade moms who fit the criteria and would love to do it. I need to address this first with the teachers b/c I don't want to seem like I'm going over their heads to the principal. I'm not sure if any of this makes sense. Would you be upset? Help please!

2. Aeliza

Aeliza Well-Known Member