A Holiday Gift to Mothers of Twins

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by MaKettle, Nov 24, 2009.

1. MaKettle

MaKettle Well-Known Member

Guys, I am still new at this, but here is what I know to be true:

It's not our fault: Sometimes not matter what we do, our babies won't sleep. Nap times are vanquished. Bed times out the window. Middle of the night feedings come four or five times. We have twins. And twins have their own cycles and their own systems. They ride a different wave of energy than other babies, and as their mothers, so do we.

We can still be there. Sure. Sometimes we can't hold both at once. But they love us no matter what when we offer them comfort when they cry.

Yes. It counts if you are holding one against your shoulder while he screams he lungs out, and the other one is on the floor screaming and you can only rock her with your toe.

Sometimes it's two steps forward one step back. Twice that with twins.

My goodness our back and arms are getting strong and sexy. And how about that reach? Extended, isn't it?

Schedules are only as important as you make them. Your babies don't really care that much.

Routines, however, are nice for them and you.

When all else fails, sing or hum.

And, yes, your husband is getting to be more irritating, but he'll get through it soon enough.

So many of us come here so desperate for answers, and whereas we get great support....sometimes we just need to realize we are doing something that is next to impossible. And we're succeeding.

So happy holidays to all of us. We're amazing. And so are our babies. I wish us all less stress and more fun at what we are doing.

Ma

2. vtlakey

vtlakey Well-Known Member

Everything you wrote, very eloquently I might add, is soooooo true! Thanks for sharing! Group hug time :grouphug:

Our boys officially hit the 15 lb mark today, and Colin rolled over from his tummy to his back for the first time. So I am one proud mamma and loving having these little angels! :)

3. tinalb