Another bed rest mama..

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by Vividor, Oct 13, 2013.

1. Vividor

Vividor Member

Hi, everybody! I am so glad I discover this forum! I already read " bed rest success stories" 5-6 times..
    I am on bed rest for 2 weeks already. Seems like a lifetime. I am 20w 1 d preg with twin girls and discover that my cervix is short at 17 weeks. I work as an ultrasound tech in the hospital and I check myself periodically to make sure my girls are ok. I never worried about cervical length since with my son, my first pregnancy, my cervix was normal, I was induced at 39+3 weeks for high blood pressure, and was in labor for 36 hours- my cervix refused to open:)
    I decided to check my cervix at 17 weeks because I felt pressure and plus with twins it's totally different pressure on it from the very beginning. My cervix was 2.8 cm, but my Ob dr told me it's ok and they don't care unless it's 2 cm. So I went back to work, all day on my feet, pushing, lifting etc. A week later I remeasured and it was 2 cm. No funneling. I went to prenatal evaluation center and they basically said nothing can be done and if I go in labor it's too early to do anything, so told me to go back to work. ..I decided to switch Ob dr and was put on modified bed rest since 18 weeks. I spent weekend in bed and went for ultrasound and my cervix lengthened to 3 cm. I am still not sure how in the world it happened.. I am not sure if my cervix is dynamic or bed rest helped??? Anyway, I started progesterone and continue with bed rest. Not a strict one. I get up to the bathroom, shower and get my son ready for day care in the morning. It's hard to bed rest with 2 yo very active toddler at home.. I have occasional mild cramps and braxtons.. Tomorrow is my appointment with my dr. And in two days is my ultrasound. Please, pray for my girls!

2. AimeeThomp

AimeeThomp Well-Known Member TS Moderator

It sounds like the bed rest is helping. Best wishes for a long pregnancy!