Any homeschooling Moms out there?

Discussion in 'General' started by slr814, Jul 29, 2008.

1. slr814

slr814 Well-Known Member

I was so excited to see this forum, but there are no topics started. I have already decided to homeschool my DD. She will still be in pre-school this fall, but I am going to do some kindergarten work with her, like teaching her to read. But I mostly want to make this year fun, so that she'll still be really excited about school next year when the hard stuff starts. I would love to hear from other people who have more experience. :D

2. NINI H

NINI H Well-Known Member

Is this a subforum now?

I have been homeschooling my DS's since they were 4 yrs old.

3. JDMummy

JDMummy Well-Known Member

YES! It was added today based on members' requests for such a forum! We hope it is very successful!

4. jenn-

jenn- Well-Known Member

Hello. I am a homeschooling mommy. I have only been homeschooling since January, so I don't have a whole lot of advice for the younger kids yet (DD is officially a 3rd grader now). Right now I am working on some basic writing skills with the bigger boys, but that is pretty much it. They are pretty behind in speech so learning to read will probably be slow, although Nathan can memorize an easy book pretty fast, so who knows. Brandon and I are just practicing staying out of the way, and reading books for distraction.

5. Dielle

Dielle Well-Known Member

Hi, I'm also a homeschooling mom. My oldest is 10 and we've homeschooled from the beginning. If she were in school, she'd be going into 5th grade. My sons would be in 3rd and starting kindergarten. We're closer to the unschooling end of the spectrum, and don't have a curriculum, except for math and handwriting. We do school (though ours doesn't look like school at all) all year round, with more fun and less studying in the summer.

6. Laura in Alaska

Laura in Alaska Well-Known Member