Any Homeschooling Moms

Discussion in 'General' started by JShardy, Dec 30, 2009.

1. JShardy

JShardy Active Member

Hi everyone, are there any homeschooling moms out there? I am facing a major dilemma now and any advice would be welcomed. I started homeschooling my DS (6th grade) and DD (2nd grade) in August of this year. They were in public school. I have enjoyed schooling them. I am a former teacher myself and loved the fact that I would be doing something that I enjoyed, especially with my kids. Now, I fear that I may not be able to devote the time to them when the twins arrive next week. I am considering, sadly, putting them back in school on Monday, at least for the rest of the semester and restart homeschooling next school year. They are devasted of course. Your thoughts?

2. jenn-

jenn- Well-Known Member

Here is the great thing about homeschooling, you set the schedule. I won't lie, you will probably be functioning on auto mode for the next couple of months and when you come out of this crazy daze that is call post twin birth, you will wonder what the heck happened the last few months. If you need to, take those couple of months off. You can easily make them up come summer. If you feel you must continue some educational learning, I would think there are a few things that your 6th grader might be able to do on his own even if it is just a math page a day or reading biographies of his favorite people. Then get him to help your 2nd grader with anything she might need help with.

If nothing else, you can start teaching life skills as you are going to need their help. Heck having 2 kids that age at home with twin infants might be a life saver for you. The older can hold one while you tend to the other when needed and the younger can entertain them while you are getting things done around the house.

3. me_and_my_boy

me_and_my_boy Well-Known Member