Back to School

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by rissakaye, Jul 18, 2014.

1. rissakaye

rissakaye Well-Known Member TS Moderator

When do your kids go back to school?  We're going back on Aug. 13.  I know it sounds early, but we were out May 22.  We've been out almost 2 months already with just under a month to go.

We're actually pretty much ready.  I need to scotch-guard the backpacks and put names on things.  We already got the lists in the mail.  I had to laugh because I noticed that they didn't have folders on the list, which I'm sure was an oversight.  The kids have trapper-keeper like binders for this year which just seems terribly grown-up.  I'm also trying to figure out how my little kids are now the 5th graders in the building and getting ready for the last year at elementary school.  

After next week, I have some inservice work that I'll start in on.  I work as a part-time para at their school so my summer will be over too.

Marissa

2. gina_leigh

gina_leigh Well-Known Member

We go back August 7! That's a bit early to me, but down here we get several holidays off. (3 weeks at Christmas, Mardi gras, fall break, full week at thanksgiving, plus 6 days for spring break. And that doesn't count all the 1 day holidays thru the year.)

I've got their backpacks ordered and hopefully they'll get here Monday. We got the supply list, just have to get a few more things. Now I need to work on uniforms and getting us back on schedule. We've all been sleeping late this summer! It's been nice, but their school starts at 7:30, so we have early mornings.

3. ljcrochet

ljcrochet Well-Known Member TS Moderator

My girls go back the thursday after labor day.  

4. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator