Did you give up a career to be a SAHM?

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by dtomecko, Aug 19, 2008.

1. dtomecko

dtomecko Well-Known Member

I did. I used to be an Accountant/Financial Analyst for a large global Corporation. I don't really miss it, I never really enjoyed it - hours were awful, lots of stress. I used to ask myself why did I choose this field again? But it still fit me and I was good at my job, and I'm not sure what else I would have done. The things I do miss most: feeling intelligent around my peers, my friends at work, and the income - (not that I was a big spender, we saved $ knowing I wanted to be a SAHM and it took a LONG time to get pregnant), but it was nice to go shopping or to be able to go out and do things and not having to worry about every dollar spent.

I wouldn't really change anything, I'm still happy to be a SAHM (most days!) but I can't help but wonder if other SAHM's were in a similar situation and made the same choices. It would be nice to have the best of both worlds and have the time and ability to do something part time. I'm just not finding anything in my field that is flexible enough. Which leads me to ask myself again, if I could do it all over what should I have gone to school for? And I still can't figure out what I would want to be when I grow up - so I guess I made the right call with being a SAHM for now.

2. ladybutterflyrose

ladybutterflyrose Well-Known Member