Hotel Fire Alarm Pull anyone?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by HusbandJ, Jun 22, 2008.

1. HusbandJ

HusbandJ Well-Known Member

Oh Well, first night of our vacation at a hotel enroute, R pulled the fire alarm in the hallway. I didn't catch him in time and felt pretty bad about it. I immediately ushered the boys to our room (they were pretty frightened by all the noise) and called down to the front desk to tell them that it was one of my boys, that I was so sorry. They said "that's ok and no problem" which did make me feel better at the time.

But at checkout time the next morning they sure did give me a hard time, to the point of being harrassing. They wanted me to compensate them for the loss of revenue; she said that people had left the hotel because of the incident, one of the sensors had broken because the alarm was pulled so hard, and that two alarms had been pulled. I'm not very good with these uncomfortable confrontations, but it was just plain untrue that two alarms had been pulled and I just cannot believe that he could have pulled it with such force to actually break anything. When I asked how many people had left the hotel she wouldn't tell me, but she wasn't letting me check out until I offered something, though her stance was that she couldn't force me to do anything.

So, I did pay her more--I have some misgivings about that, but I had screaming kids in the car and I didn't know what else to do about it at the time. I mostly feel bad that in the moment of being so flustered I signed the check out sheet where she had written that they had broken the sensor, etc. I didn't notice she had written this at the time. I just wanted to get out of there.