how can you work?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Gimena, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Gimena

Gimena Well-Known Member

I've been thinking about going back to work...but with the cost of daycare for 2, I would probably go in debt going back to work?
    Unless you are making more than 50k, most of the money would go to daycare,
    for the working moms, how do you do it?

2. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

i work contracts in theatre through the fall & winter - when i'm in rehearsal it's 6 days/week. my MIL babysits two days a week for free, my sister babysits 2 days a week in exchange for babysitting hours for her little guy, and the other two days a week we have a gal who babysits for $10.00/hour. then, once the show opens, i pretty much only work evenings, so DH & i are able to trade off over dinner.

during the spring & summer i work as a birth doula - i have a long list of possible babysitters to call depending on what time of day my client goes into labor, some of them babysit for free, others we pay $10.00/hour. but at most, i'll only have 4 clients a month & need child care for only approximately 4 days/month.

3. Fossie

Fossie Well-Known Member