How much time off

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by allboyssofar, Jan 20, 2015.

1. allboyssofar

allboyssofar Member

Hi everyone....I am new to this page as we just learned on 1/7 that we are expecting twins in August. I have read through quite a few posts and don't see my specific question addressed and that is how long after having your multiples did you take off from work. I know the standard is 6-8 weeks depending on the type of delivery but I am hoping to maybe take FMLA leave as well....I am just not sure how to make ends meet only receiving a percentage of my normal pay since I am the breadwinner for my family.

2. lharrison1

lharrison1 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I took 8 weeks off with my first child but only 6 with the twins-the main reason was that I had already been off 4 weeks prior to their birth on bed rest and hadnt accrued any vacation time during my short term disability.  If you are able to, that is GREAT!! 
    Welcome to TS!!! And congratulations on expecting twins!

What do you do for a living?  Do you have any other children?

3. allboyssofar

allboyssofar Member

I am lucky enough to work from home for a dental insurance carrier as an analyst. I have three boys ages 11, 5, and 17 months. I just never felt like it was enough time off with each of my boys and with twins I have a feeling I may feel even more resentful if I go back that soon. I do work from home like I said but I'm pretty strict with my hours.

4. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator