If you use generic/store brand formula

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by *Sully*, Jun 20, 2008.

1. *Sully*

*Sully* Well-Known Member

I've been pumping for the twins for almost 8 months now and supplementing with formula. We started with Enfamil Lipil and stayed on it with no problems. I am slowly weaning from the pump and I'm a bit concerned about the added expense of formula once my milk dries up.

So if you use generic or store brand formula, how did you decide which one to use? Did you try different brands to see if they liked it ok? Did they reject any of it? What were they on first (name brand) before you made the switch?

Thanks!

2. gina_leigh

gina_leigh Well-Known Member

We started out on Enfamil Lipil as a supplement to my pumping. At 2 months we had gone completely to the formula. I was at Walmart and just started looking at the Parent's Choice. (It's says comparable to the Enfamil on the can.) It has all the exact ingredients and it's half the cost. (A little less than half here- Enfamil is $25.97 and the Parent's Choice is $11.88 for the same size can.) The cost is what did it.
    We never had any issue with the switch. We never tried any other generic brands since they've done just fine on Parent's Choice.

We've saved so much money!

3. 4lilmonkeys

4lilmonkeys Well-Known Member

Generic brands are under strict guidelines by the FDA to be exactly the same as name brands. We used the Enfamil Lipil at first but switched to Target brand and had no issues. It's around the same price as the Parent's Choice and there's not much difference between those two that we can tell. The only difference between Enfamil and generic is the texture.

4. becky5

becky5 Guest

We ended up on Parent's Choice(WalMart) brand formula, because the savings were so great! All formula has to meet certain standards by the FDA. We never had any problems with making the switch, and the babies loved it.

5. *Sully*