Monochorionic Monoamniotic Twins

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by kbrown5199, Jan 19, 2010.

1. kbrown5199

kbrown5199 Member

My name is Krista, and I am VERY new to the twin world. We just discovered yesterday that we are expecting twins! This is our forth pregnancy, we have three beautiful healthy children ages 6, 5, and 3. This pregnancy was a huge surprise to us, but we are very excited. When we found out it was twins, we were totally shocked. However, the bad news is that they are monochorionic monoamniotic (MoMo) twins. I had no idea what that meant, so I read up on it last night, and now I am terrified. I read that the babies have a 50/50 chance of surviving. I'm looking for other twin families who have gone through the same thing.

Thanks, I look forward to getting to know you.

Krista
    Mom to CJ 6, Josh 5, Sarah 3
    Twins EDD 9/11/10

2. maeghanalyson

maeghanalyson Active Member

haha I just posted asking about MoMo twins too. I'm due Aug.18th with MoMo twins. :) We can be terrified together. lol

3. ChaoticMum

ChaoticMum Well-Known Member

Hi Krista! :) You sound very similar to me in the family situation - we were shocked to discover we were expecting twins when we already had a 6,5 and 3yr old! LOL My twins were monochorionic, but diamniotic so I didn't have as many fears as you do. i have no advice on the mo-mo aspect but I do know I've heard of many that HAVE survived and there is a website out there specifically for mo-mo twins - I honestly can't remember the name offhand but I'm sure someone here will post the link!!

HUGS HUGS HUGS And congratulations on your twins! :) Its a roller coaster ride with 5 ages 7 and under but I'm surviving! :) I hope your babies fight this and are born happy and healthy!

4. amymc72

amymc72 Well-Known Member