More questions about feedings and sleep!

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by babyhopes09, May 31, 2010.

1. babyhopes09

babyhopes09 Well-Known Member

I have 7 week old twin girls and I have a couple of questions....

-We use doctor brown's bottles- some plastic, some glass- how often do you replace the plastic bottles? I try not to run them through the dishwasher too much because I feel like they will break down the plastic. I wash them with really hot soapy water after each use...

-When do you go up to the next nipple with bottles? We were using preemie nipples because our girls were choking so often...we are now trying the level one's and they still choke a bit but are getting the hang of it.... speaking of choking during feedings- is that common?? I'm a speech pathologist by trade and any amount of coughing or choking bothers me a lot (I don't specialize in feeding/swallowing disorders in infants) because those are red flags for aspiration in children/adults in my field.. I get a bit panicky whenever it happens but I'm wondering how common it is with all infants during feedings..

-my doctor's office says that kiddos my babies' age should be consuming 26 ounces/24 hour period.. we offer our girls 28 ounces/24 hour period (4 ounces and 7 feedings per day)... but a lot of times they will not want all 4 ounces.. is this common???

-onto sleeping.... how much do babies sleep at this age. Is it too early to try to get a schedule going- even if it means tons of naps during the schedule? At what point do babies sleep during the night more than 3-4 hours at a time???

Sorry about the ridiculous amount of questions!!! Thank you so much for your help!!!!!! :)

2. RJ2006

RJ2006 Well-Known Member

Hi - Our twins are 19 wks old so much of this is still fresh in my mind.