Natural/Home Birth?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by mcgarry22, Feb 12, 2011.

1. mcgarry22

mcgarry22 Member

Hi everyone -

I am new to Twinstuff and looking for some local resources (and also stories from women everywhere who have chosen to have a natural and/or home birth with twins). My husband and I live in west suburban Chicago and are having a rough time finding a midwife who will deliver a first time/twin pregnancy at home. One of our main priorities when we found out we were pregnant was hopefully being able to have a normal birth at home, but with twins this is seeming less and less like a possibility. We are coming to terms with the idea of a hospital birth, as long as we can find an OB who believes in vaginal birth with as few interventions as possible (assuming both babies are head down, there are no other complicating factors, etc.)

Is there anyone in this area who has had experience with twin home birth? Or hospital birth with a good OB? Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

I would also love to hear from women everywhere who have had their twins at home or at least in a non-medical setting, and also from those who have GOOD memories of their hospital births!

Thanks to all and have a great weekend!

Allie

2. E's 3

E's 3 Well-Known Member

Hi! Welcome to TS and congrats on your twins.

I am in Canada so I don't have any specific advice for you related to where you live but I did have a natural birth. Home births are not permitted in Canada for twins so my birth was in the hospital. I was co-managed throughout my pregnancy by an OB and a midwife.