New here, need advice about what to buy and when!

Discussion in 'General' started by paperclippy, Jan 23, 2013.

1. paperclippy

paperclippy Well-Known Member

Hello! I am new to Twinstuff, just found it via google today. I'm almost 18 weeks along with mono/di twin girls. Things seem to be going well so far (knock on wood), but I have a lot of questions about preparing for the babies. Since this is my first pregnancy, and neither my husband nor I has any experience with babies, we're pretty clueless. We started browsing for baby items online and at our local stores, but it's extremely overwhelming and I'm not really sure where to start. I'm hoping you all can help me out with some of this!

1) When should I start buying baby items? I feel like it's a race between not wanting to buy too early in case something goes wrong, but not wanting to wait too long in case the babies come early. Also, I'm concerned that when I'm farther along I won't be physically capable of wandering around baby stores looking at things, especially if I get put on bed rest or something like that. It's already rough just to go shopping for a couple hours at this point since it makes my back hurt like crazy.

2) Do I need to buy two full-sized cribs? The room we plan to use as a nursery is pretty small, and I'm wondering if mini-cribs are a good option, or if it is okay for twins to share a crib at first. I'm also not clear on whether the babies are supposed to sleep in our bedroom for the first few months or not -- our bedroom is quite large but we also have a big old dog (80lbs) who sleeps in the bedroom with us and I'm concerned about him accidentally knocking over a bassinet or something.