Nursing Pillow - how to use it?

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by PurplePenguin, Jul 15, 2011.

1. PurplePenguin

PurplePenguin Active Member

I've been using the My Brest Friend Nursing pillow for two months now (two month old twins), but every time I use it my back is in excruciating pain. I have to lean forward to have my breast reach my girls, and by the time the 30 minute feeding is over, I've been hunched over and in pain.

Maybe I'm not using the pillow correctly?

I try to sit cross-legged on the couch to help raise their heads up, but then whoever's on the side with the clasp ends up falling through the space between the front and back of the pillow.

Any advice?

Please help, I'm exclusively breast-feeding in tandem and I need to be able to feed them comfortably for them and me too!

2. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

We definitely need to figure out how to get you sitting up straight! It's important that you get comfortable first & then figure out how to get the girls to you (not the other way around). Have you tried tucking folded towels or receiving blankets under the front of the pillow to lift it up? Do you have a pillow or two tucked behind your back to help support? Or you could try a footstool (they have special angled ones for nursing, but honestly, any type would do)?

It'll seem like a total PITA to get all set up for now, but it won't be forever. As they get bigger & have better head control they'll be able to nurse without all the extra pillows/blankets/towels/etc. In fact, they'll be nursing upside down before you know it & you'll look back on these snuggly infant days with fondness. ;)

3. PurplePenguin

I have tried towels, and pillows behind me - I think the problem is the couch is angled back really far - I can try sitting on a different couch and maybe a footstool will work. I'll have to keep playing with it, but yes, I agree that I need to be comfortable too!