PANIC! I'm getting a cold!

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by Specky, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Specky

Specky Well-Known Member

Ok, DH and I have worked sooo hard at not getting sick, that I knew once I returned to work I would catch 'something'...I work in a hospital. I have the sore throat, and drippy nose...here it comes! :eek:

We have been so diligant about washing our hands, not bringing kids around our boys, no visitors if sick etc...we have basically lived in a bubble for the last 3mths.

and now it will be MOMMY who makes them sick? sooo not fair! :angry:

Any advice?
    They sleep in our living room, we have a vaporizer, but we have a wood stove, so it's pretty dry in there. (our house is under construction so their nursery isn't done yet).

I'm terrified of RSV etc...

What do we do if they get sick? How will we make them comfortable, this feels like one of my worst nightmares. Our pedi has scared the heck our of us, about not letting them get sick...what do we do??

We are bottle feeding. I should add, they eat fairly well but have reflux and have good weights...CJ is 14.9lbs and Ryan is 12.13lbs

Thanks everyone!
    reb

2. Leighann

Leighann Well-Known Member

I got sick when the girls were 9 weeks old (after 1 week of being back to work thank you very much). I washed my hands A LOT! My best friend was in town so she and DH took care of some of the night feedings so I could sleep. I didn't kiss the girls (that was hard). But in the end they got sick too. We used saline and a nasal bulb to keep their noses clear, a humidifier to keep the air moist, and let them sleep upright in their carseats. :hug: I hope you feel better soon and your lil ones don't get it too.

3. KKing

KKing Well-Known Member