Poll on Grapes

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by sullivanre, Feb 5, 2010.

?

Which statement best applies to you/your kids?

1. No, I don't feed my kids grapes

14.5%
  2. My kids are 12.0-18.0 months, and I feed them grapes whole.

1.3%
  3. My kids are 12.0-18.0 month, and I feed them grapes cut.

27.6%
  4. My kids are 18.1-24.0 months, and I feed them grapes whole.

7.9%
  5. My kids are 18.1-24.0 month, and I feed them grapes cut.

25.0%
  6. Hey my kids are older or younger, but I'm reading this thread anyways. :)

23.7%
  1. sullivanre

sullivanre Well-Known Member

Ok, so I've been giving the boys grapes since about 14 months old, but I cut them up since I heard grapes are one of the biggest choking hazards for kids. I used to cut them in 1/4s, but now I cut them in half. Anyways, I'm starting to think they can handle eating a freakin' whole grape and maybe I'm just being too paranoid.

So what do other people do?

(And for all of those who clicked on this thread because they thought it was about eating grapes in the supermarket, you should be ashamed of yourselves :laughing: )

2. Kyrstyn

Kyrstyn Well-Known Member

My girls are nearly 28 months, and I still cut their Grapes and Hot Dogs. I don't plan on stopping anytime soon.

3. silver_stardust

silver_stardust Well-Known Member

I cut up their grapes into 1/3 or 1/4. I am way too paranoid about choking and grapes just have a slippery skin that scares me! Cherries too and most everything else in my house still gets cut up and probably will for a long time! Your kids are older than mine so I guess I'm not sure how much of a difference their "chewing" ability is to mine!

4. seamusnicholas

seamusnicholas Well-Known Member

LOL!

I still cut them in half but the super small ones I dont.

5. AimeeThomp

AimeeThomp Well-Known Member TS Moderator

We stopped cutting them in half after they got really good at eating them. I'd say around 20 or 21 months.

6. Beth*J

Beth*J Well-Known Member