Potty Training-Negative Reinforcement?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by mtnmama, Oct 3, 2011.

1. mtnmama

mtnmama Well-Known Member

My girls are turning three in two weeks and are still not potty trained! It's driving me bonkers because I know they can do it - at home I keep them with bare butts and they never ever have accidents. I don't have to remind them to use the potty - they just trot off and use it like it's second nature.

As soon as I put pants or underwear on them, though, it's a different story. They just pee their pants like they are infants and one will poop her pants and not even tell us. Argh!

In any case, I know the current parenting philosophy is to just change them and say "it's okay, you'll try again next time" when they have accidents, but I've been doing this for 9 months and - really, it is not okay and this approach is not working. I'm wondering if anyone has tried negative reinforcement to encourage potty usage. Like, "if you pee your pants, we'll have to leave whatever fun activity we are doing." Or, if they have an accident, at least tell them in a firm voice "I am not happy you peed (or pooped) in your pants - it is not okay to wet your pants".

I feel like they have no real motivation to use the potty - if they wet their pants, mom just changes them and they go on their merry way.

2. Utopia122

Utopia122 Well-Known Member