Saying Hi and a Question

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by Daddy Daycare, Apr 25, 2013.

1. Daddy Daycare

Daddy Daycare Member

Thought I'd introduce myself, I am a stay at home dad taking care of my 6 month old twin girls.
    We are in the great white north, well, Toronto really, not much white around at this time.
    I noticed there was a forum for dads but don't seem active so hopefully I'm not stepping on anyone's toes.
    Anyways, being a stay at home dad is pretty cool but also pretty scarey.
    I'm getting to see my girls develop and change right before my eyes and I think I'm slowly converting them to daddy's girls. :)
    But, also I'm new to the consoling part. I still haven't figured out how to console one baby while the other one starts to act up.
    Actually, this whole being a dad part is pretty scarey. I can see raising one kid is difficult enough but two kids and with no prior knowledge is absolutely terrifying. :shok:

So, my question is and I think this has probably been asked a million times is how do you keep 6 month old kids entertained?
    I do have toys, the exersaucer, and the playmat. I try to rotate them around but once they get fussy doing one thing they tend not to like doing anything else other then being held.
    If I hold one of my kids then the other one starts getting fussy and I gotta entertain her too but pretty hard when I'm trying to bounce the first kid.
    Also, some days I just feel exhausted and can't get the energy to interact with them non stop. I try to leave them to their toys but after 10 min they get fussy and want something more.

Anyways, looking forward to sharing my experiences and hopefully getting some help and support along the way.

2. daisies

daisies Well-Known Member

Welcome Daddy Daycare!
    So great that you are a stay at home dad! What lucky little girls to have you 24/7. It is wonderful to watch them grow and change every day, and believe it or not it only get better!