Success stories and smooth sailing?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by Amycplus, Jul 19, 2011.

1. Amycplus

Amycplus Well-Known Member

I am new to TS and this is my first post! The information is amazing and I am hugely impressed by the engagement and support of the community. So, I am hoping some folks can oblige this request...

There is so much information about twin pregnancies that is scary and can cause anxiety and I really don't want to spend the next six months (I'm 11weeks) worrying about everything that could go wrong. So, I am looking for stories of fabulous twin pregnancies that were healthy, free of major trauma etc. I'm not talking about perfection, just hoping there are some stories of relatively smooth sailing so I can have that vision to balance out all the other stuff and believe it's possible to have a great experience. Thanks in advance!

2. MLH

MLH Well-Known Member

Congrats on your twin pregnancy! I was full of worry too. I had a m/c right before we concieved the twins and I think that set me up for even more worry. But, I made it to 38 weeks 1 day. I had no complications, bp stayed normal, no PTL, nothing really except kind of hitting a wall around week 33 or 34. I was induced with some prostiglandin gel (no pitocin needed) and was able to deliver vaginally. Baby A was vertex and was 6 lb 4 oz. Baby B was breech (she turned breech at 38 weeks), but turned vertex after A was delivered and she weighed 7 lbs. Other than being more tired, sore and bigger than with my singleton, I loved my twin pregnancy. I feel very lucky that I didn't have any complications.

3. AmynTony

AmynTony Well-Known Member

I had a complication free twin pregnancy and I'm diabetic!! I carried to 36w exactly and had to have a c-section due to pre-eclampsia - which didn't develop until after 35 weeks...I worked until I was 35w 3d - my twins were only 3.5 and 4.5 lbs but were perfectly healthy and came home with me on day 5!!