what do you guys do with your formula cans?

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by lisagayle, Aug 29, 2010.

1. lisagayle

lisagayle Well-Known Member

So I hate to just throw the formula cans away....we go through so many. So I've been saving them for a couple of months now and have about 20 of them. Maybe more.

My first thought was to clean them out, cover them with holiday scrapbook paper and then put cookies in them as Christmas gifts. But I know by Christmas I will have way more than I will need for that. Does anybody else have any creative ideas for what to do with them?

I also thought about using an x-acto knife to cut out halloween designs in them (stars, cats, ghosts, etc) and put them along our walkway on halloween with a tealight in them.

2. jromkey

jromkey Well-Known Member

We just recycle them! You should check with your local recycling facility to see if they can be recycled in your area. I also think your cookie tin and halloween lantern ideas are super! I did a quick search on the net and founds lots more ideas for what to do with empty formula cans too (i.e. storage bins, arts and crafts projects). The possibilities are seemingly endless! Have fun with it.

3. eagleswings216

eagleswings216 Well-Known Member

We recycle them, too, but I like your craft ideas. :)

4. megkc03

megkc03 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

We recycled them as well. But you could use them to put craft materials in as well: cotton balls, pom poms, maybe glitter, crayons, paper scraps, stickers, etc. Granted-for when the twins are a bit older. Or you could make drums out of them, or other instruments-shakers.

Good ideas you have!

5. JoannaD

JoannaD Well-Known Member

Thanks for the idea of keeping them for crafts!! I'm sure I could use them somehow in my classroom :)

6. megkc03

megkc03 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

No problem! It's the former teacher in me! ;)

7. stephsoss

stephsoss Well-Known Member