What "structured" activities do you do with you 17/18 month olds?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Momto1now3, Nov 25, 2006.

1. Momto1now3

Momto1now3 Well-Known Member

I have been reading a lot lately that structured time is so important. Children need free play, but no during every play opportunity. I definately want my children to learn different skills and I would love some input on what you are doing daily to give them a variety in their activities.

2. Momto1now3

Momto1now3 Well-Known Member

I have been reading a lot lately that structured time is so important. Children need free play, but no during every play opportunity. I definately want my children to learn different skills and I would love some input on what you are doing daily to give them a variety in their activities.

3. jakeandpeytonsmommy

jakeandpeytonsmommy Well-Known Member

Mine have a lot of free play and being a teacher I have seen this is good. They will make their little people kiss or hug, walk etc...cars will go across the floor.
    However, I also read a lot to them and lately they are super into puzzles.
    HTH

4. ads3046

ads3046 Well-Known Member

We don't actually have structured activities yet, however our day is pretty routine. Lately, we have focused more on getting outside to explore our environment. I did purchase some puzzles for Christmas and I'd like to start with the crayons, but haven't figured out a safe place to do it yet. I'll be interested to read more of the posts you get here.

Angela

5. MusicalAli

MusicalAli Well-Known Member

Today I tried going to "MY Gym", which is kind of like Gymboree. They do attempt to make it structured. I must say, however, that my boys are NOT into structure. They just wanted to run and play on everything and they get furious made to sit in a circle, etc. It's a hard balance. I've tried story/song time at the library and they are just too into moving.

6. lrothrock1

lrothrock1 Well-Known Member